About | HeinOnline Law Journal Library | HeinOnline Law Journal Library | HeinOnline

21 Chi. L. Libr. Bull. 1 (June 1956)

handle is hein.journals/callbu21 and id is 1 raw text is: 


              Chicago Association of Law Libraries

 Number 21.                                        June 15, 1956.


       For the first time in its history the Chicago Association
of Law Libraries held a meeting outside the City of Chicago when
it met at Notre Dame University on Saturday, April 28, 1956.  Miss
Marie Lawrence, Law Librarian at Notre Dame, prepared the arrange-
ments for the meeting which began with a luncheon at the Morris
Inn on the campus.  The luncheon was followed by a tour of the law
and other libraries and the various campus buildings.
       Our President, Miss Dorothy Scarborough,, presided at the
luncheon.  The group was welcomed by Father Philip S. Moore, Vice-
President of the University in Charge of Academic Affairs; Dean
Joseph O'Mara of the Law School;  Mr. Victor A. Schaefer, Director
of the University Libraries; and Miss Lawrence.  Other guests from
Notre Dame Law School included Mr. Bernard Ward,  Dr. Anton-Hermann
Chroust, and Mrs. Irene Hnatiuk.  In addition the Association was
honored by having as it guests the Hon. Raymond P. Drymalski, Chief
Justice of the Municipal Court of Chicago, and Mr. John Schaffer,
Executive Assistant to the Chief Justice.
       Thirty-two members attended what was one of the most enjoy-
able meetings the Association has held.

                  HELD AT THE NORMANDY HOUSE

       The Annual Meeting of the Chicago Association of Law Li-
braries was held at the Normandy House on Friday, June 1, 1956
with our President, Hiss Dorothy Scarborough, presiding.  Dr. Fritz
Yeit, Librarian at Chicago Teachers College, and a member of our
Association, spoke on Andrew Osborn's recent book, Serial Publi-
cations, Their Place and Treatment in Libraries, which was re-
cently published by the American Library Association.  Dr. Veit's
review of this book was informative and interesting. A  question
and answer period followed his talk.
       The following Officers were elected for the year 1956-1957:
President: Norman Bursler, Librarian of the University of Chicago
Law Library;  Vice-President: Robert Q. Kelly, Librarian of De Paul
University Law Library;  and Secretary-Treasurer:  William D.
Murphy, Librarian of the law firm library of Kirkland, Fleming,
Green, Martin & Ellis.  Mrs. Florence R. McMaster, Librarian of
Indi-Lana University Law Library, Indianapolis Division, and Miss
Virginia Dunlap, Librarian of the law firm library of Lord, Bissell
& Brook, were elected to the Executive Committee.
       The Nominating Committee consisted of John C. Leary, Chair-
man, Miss Mary Ballantine and Miss Helen Vallo.

Page one:

B U LL  E '' I N

C HI  CA  G 0

What Is HeinOnline?

HeinOnline is a subscription-based resource containing nearly 3,000 academic and legal journals from inception; complete coverage of government documents such as U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Code, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Reports, and much more. Documents are image-based, fully searchable PDFs with the authority of print combined with the accessibility of a user-friendly and powerful database. For more information, request a quote or trial for your organization below.

Short-term subscription options include 24 hours, 48 hours, or 1 week to HeinOnline with pricing starting as low as $29.95

Contact us for annual subscription options:

Already a HeinOnline Subscriber?

profiles profiles most